Dionysios Solomos (1798-1857)

What is special about Dionysios Solomos, who was born in the same year as Schubert, and who wrote poetry for the Greek and Cypriot national anthem, the "Hymn to Freedom"?

His life is connected to the Ionian Islands , a very special part of Greece that has never been under the Ottoman rule. On the contrary, Italian culture is still omnipresent today, since the islands (from Corfu in the north to Zakynthos in the south) were under Venetian rule until 1797.

The

The Greeks of the Ionian Islands are not only known for their melodic dialect, which is blurred with many Italian words. Above all, they are known for their love of music. It is sung everywhere in Ionion, in choirs, on the streets, in company and in the salon. The Kandades (from the Italian word "Cantata") of male choirs are still popular in Zakynthos (see the video channel at the bottom of the page). A beautiful opera house in Corfu was unfortunately bombed by the Germans in World War II, while the magnificent theater in Zakynthos, built by Radebeuler Ernst Ziller, was destroyed in one of the island's numerous earthquakes.

Zakynthos is a green island that has produced many poets and composers. In addition to Dionysios Solomos, the composer Pavlos Carrer and the writer Grigorios Xenopoulos come from the island.

And something else interesting about the connections between Italy and Greece in the Ionian Islands, we see in the film with Nicolas Cage and Penelope Cruz "Captain Corelli's Mandolin", which was filmed in Kefalonia.

Biographie

Dionysios Solomos (April 8, 1798 - February 9, 1857) was a Greek poet from Zakynthos. He is best known for writing the hymn to freedom, of which the first two stanzas, set to the music of Nikolaos Mantzaros, became the Greek national anthem in 1865, he was the central figure of the Heptanese School of Poetry, and is considered to be the national poet of Greece - not only because he wrote the national anthem, but also because he contributed to the preservation of the earlier poetic tradition and emphasized its usefulness for modern literature. Other notable poems such as "Τhe Cretan", "The Free besieged and many others. It is characteristic of his work that no poem was completed except for the hymn to freedom, and almost nothing was published during his lifetime. Born in 1798, Dionysios Solomos was the illegitimate child of a wealthy count, Nikolaos Solomos, and his housekeeper, Angeliki Nikli.Nikolaos Solomos was of Cretan origin; his family were Cretan refugees who settled on Zakynthos in 1670 after the Ottoman Empire conquered Crete in 1669 the Italian version of the family name is described as: Salamon, Salomon, Salomon, and Solomone ( Read more at www.projectcorfu.com )

Video channel

First international Lied competition

Bolko von Hochberg 2021

A song for HELLAS

What

Song competition

on the subject of "HELLAS"

When

21.-25. March 2021

Registration deadline:

December 23, 2020

Where

Gerhart-Hautmann-Theater

Görlitz

Kontakt 

We are at your disposal for any question.

Eleni Ioannidou, Heinz Müller

Ars-Augusta e.V. Augustastraße 6, Görlitz 02826

liedcompetition@gmail.com

+49 3581 8778460

+49 177 4470120

+48 502 991789

 

Follow us on social media:

 

Contact
  • Facebook
  • YouTube

© 2020 Ars-Augusta e.V. (www.ars-augusta.org)

Dionysios Solomos (1798-1857)

Was ist das Besondere an Dionysios Solomos, der im selben Jahr wie Schubert geboren ist, und der die Dichtung für die griechische und zypriotische Nationalhymne geschrieben hat, die "Hymne an die Freiheit"?

Sein Leben ist mit den Ionischen Inseln verbunden, ein ganz besonderer Teil Griechenlands, der nie unter der osmanischen Herrschaft gewesen ist. Im Gegenteil, ist heute noch die italienische Kultur allgegenwärtig, da die Inseln (von Korfu im Norden bis Zakynthos im Süden) lagen bis 1797 unter Venezianischen Herrschaft.

Die Griechen der Ionischen Inseln sind nicht nur für den melodischen Dialekt bekannt, der verblümt mit vielen italienischen Wörter ist. Vor allem sind sie für Ihre Liebe zur Musik bekannt. Überall wird es in Ionion gesungen, in Chöre, auf den Strassen, in Gesellschaft und im Salon. Die Kandades (aus dem italienischen Wort "Cantata") der Männerchöre sind immer noch in Zakynthos populär (Siehe im Video-Kanal am Ende der Seite). Eine wunderschönes Opernhaus in Korfu wurde leider von den Deutschen im 2.Weltkrieg bombardiert, während das herrliche Theater in Zakynthos, gebaut durch den Radebeuler Ernst Ziller wurde in einem der zahlreichen Erdbeben der Insel zerstört.

Zakynthos ist eine grüne Insel, die viele Dichter und Komponisten hervorgebracht hat. Neben Dionysios Solomos, stammt der Komponist Pavlos Carrer und der Schriftsteller Grigorios Xenopoulos aus der Insel.

Und noch etwas interessantes über die Verbindungen zwischen Italien und Griechenland in den Ionischen Inseln, sehen wir imFilm mit Nicolas Cage und Penelope Cruz "Captain Corelli’s Mandolin",der in Kefalonia gedreht wurde.

Biographie

Dionysios Solomos (8. April 1798 - 9. Februar 1857) war ein griechischer Dichter aus Zakynthos. Er ist am besten für das Schreiben der Hymne an die Freiheit, von denen die ersten beiden Strophen, zur Musik von Nikolaos Mantzaros gesetzt bekannt ist, wurde die griechische Nationalhymne im Jahr 1865 war er die zentrale Figur des Heptanese Schule der Poesie, und gilt als die nationalen Dichter von Griechenland-nicht nur, weil er schrieb die Nationalhymne, aber auch, weil er für die Erhaltung der früheren poetischen Tradition beigetragen und betonte deren Nützlichkeit für die moderne Literatur. Andere bemerkenswerte Gedichte wie "Τhe kretischen", "The Free belagert und viele andere. Kennzeichnend für seine Arbeit ist, dass kein Gedicht mit Ausnahme der Hymne an die Freiheit vollendet war, und während seiner Lebenszeit wurde fast nichts veröffentlicht.Geboren im Jahre 1798, Dionysios Solomos war das uneheliche Kind eines wohlhabenden Grafen, Nikolaos Solomos, und seine Haushälterin, Angeliki Nikli. Nikolaos Solomos war der kretischen Ursprungs; seine Familie waren kretische Flüchtlinge, die auf Zakynthos im Jahre 1670 nach der Eroberung Kretas durch das Osmanische Reich 1669 siedelten sich die italienische Version des Familiennamens wird beschrieben als:. Salamon, Salomon, Salomon, und Salomone  (Weiter lesen auf www.projectcorfu.com)

Video-Kanal

Erster Internationaler Lied-Wettbewerb Bolko v.Hochberg  2021

Thema: HELLAS

Was

Lied-Wettbewerb

zum Thema "HELLAS"

Wann

22. -25. März 2021

Anmeldefrist:

30. November 2020

Wo

Gerhart-Hautmann-Theater

Görlitz

Kontakt 

Für jede Frage stehen wir Ihnen zu Verfügung.

Eleni Ioannidou, Heinz Müller

Ars-Augusta e.V. Augustastraße 6, Görlitz 02826

liedcompetition@gmail.com

+49 3581 8778460

+49 177 4470120

+48 502 991789

Folgen Sie uns auch auf den Social Medias:

Kontakt
  • Facebook
  • YouTube
  • Instagram

© 2020 Ars-Augusta e.V. (www.ars-augusta.org)