Hermann Reutter (1900-1985) 

The songs

Three monologues by Empedocles  (Friedrich Hölderlin)

  1. Euch ruf ich über das Gefild herein

  2. Ha! Jupiter, Befreier! Näher tritt

  3. In meine Stille kamst du leise wandelnd

     

Sheet music available by; Verlag Schott

​​

Links

Biografie

Friedrich Hölderlin

Hermann Reutter was born in Stuttgart on 17 June 1900. In 1920 he moved to Munich. After three years of singing lessons with Emma Rückbeil-Hiller (Stuttgart) and Karl Erler (München) he studied at the Munich Academy of Musical Arts composition with Walter Courvoisier and piano with Franz Dorfmüller, and organ with Ludwig Mayer.

Since 1923 he participated in the music festival of Donaueschingen and intensified his contact with the Donaueschingen circle, in particular with Paul Hindemith. Starting with 1926 he was a frequent composer in association with the annual music festival of the Allgemeine Deutsche Musikverein where many of his works were world premiered. He began intensive concert activities as pianist and accompanist in lieder in 1929, working together with major conductors and soloists of his period.

In 1932 he succeeded Ewald Straesser as principal teacher of composition at the Musikhochschule Stuttgart. He was appointed director of the Hoch Conservatory in Frankfurt on the Main four years later. In 1945 was the end of this work. He returned to Stuttgart and resumed concert activities in 1950. Two years later he was appointed professor of composition and lied interpretation at the Stuttgart Hochschule fuer Musik. In 1955 he became full member of the Berlin Akademie der Kuenste and of the Bayerische Akademie der Schoenen Kuenste, Munich. Since 1956 he was juror, later chairman, of the jury in the category Singing at the ARD competition.

He succeeded Hermann Erpf as director of the Stuttgart Hochschule fuer Musik. Since 1960 he often stayed in the USA for interpretation courses at various universities. From 1966-1974 he led the master class of lied interpretation at the Munich Musikhochschule. In 1968 he founded the Hugo Wolf Society Stuttgart, being its president until his death.

For his achievement as a composer and a teacher he was awarded (among others) the Ludwig-Spohr-Award of the City of Brunswig (1953), the Grand Cross for Distinguished Service of the Federal Republic of Germany (1959 and with Star in 1975), a Honorary doctorate of the Music and Arts Institute San Francisco and the Hugo Wolf Medal of the International Hugo Wolf Society, Vienna (both in 1976).

Hermann Reutter died in Heidenheim on 1 January 1985.

(from www.schott-music.com)

Video channel

First international Lied competition

Bolko von Hochberg 2021

A song for HELLAS

What

Song competition

on the subject of "HELLAS"

When

21.-25. March 2021

Registration deadline:

December 23, 2020

Where

Gerhart-Hautmann-Theater

Görlitz

Kontakt 

We are at your disposal for any question.

Eleni Ioannidou, Heinz Müller

Ars-Augusta e.V. Augustastraße 6, Görlitz 02826

liedcompetition@gmail.com

+49 3581 8778460

+49 177 4470120

+48 502 991789

 

Follow us on social media:

 

Contact
  • Facebook
  • YouTube

© 2020 Ars-Augusta e.V. (www.ars-augusta.org)

Hermann Reutter (1900-1985) 

Die Lieder

Drei Monologe von Empedokles  (Friedrich Hölderlin)

  1. Euch ruf ich über das Gefild herein

  2. Ha! Jupiter, Befreier! Näher tritt

  3. In meine Stille kamst du leise wandelnd

     

Noten kaufen; Verlag Schott

Links

Biografie

Friedrich Hölderlin

Hermann Reutter wurde am 17. Juni 1900 in Stuttgart geboren. 1920 zog er nach München. Nach dreijährigem Gesangsunterricht bei Emma Rückbeil-Hiller (Stuttgart) und Karl Erler (München) studierte er bis 1925 an der Münchner Akademie der Tonkunst Komposition bei Walter Courvoisier und Klavier bei Franz Dorfmüller sowie Orgel bei Ludwig Mayer.

Er nahm seit 1923 an den Musikfesten in Donaueschingen teil und knüpfte enge Kontakte zum Donaueschinger Kreis, insbesondere zu Paul Hindemith. Seit 1926 war er fast alljährlich mit Uraufführungen seiner Werke bei den Tonkünstlerfesten des Allgemeinen Deutschen Musikvereins vertreten. 1929 begann er eine rege Konzerttätigkeit als Pianist und Liedbegleiter, die ihn mit allen wichtigen Dirigenten und Interpreten seiner Zeit zusammenführte.

1932 wurde Reutter als Nachfolger von Ewald Strässer zum 1. Kompositionslehrer an die Musikhochschule in Stuttgart berufen. Vier Jahre später folgte die Ernennung zum Direktor des Hoch'schen Konservatoriums in Frankfurt a.M. 1945 endete diese Tätigkeit. Reutter kehrte 1950 nach Stuttgart zurück und nahm seine Konzerttätigkeit wieder auf. 1952 wurde er zum Professor für Komposition und Liedinterpretation an die Musikhochschule Stuttgart berufen. Drei Jahre später beriefen ihn die Akademie der Künste Berlin und die Bayerische Akademie der schönen Künste München zum Mitglied. 1956 wurde er Juror, später Jurorenvorsitzender im Fach Gesang des ARD-Wettbewerbs.

Von 1956 bis 1966 war er als Nachfolger von Hermann Erpf Direktor der Stuttgarter Musikhochschule. Seit 1960 hielt er sich regelmäßig in den USA auf, um an verschiedenen Hochschulen Interpretationskurse zu geben. Von 1966 bis 1974 leitete er die Meisterklasse für Liedgesang an der Münchner Musikhochschule. 1968 gründete er die Hugo-Wolf-Gesellschaft Stuttgart, deren Präsident er bis zu seinem Tode war.

Von den zahlreichen Preisen und Ehrungen für sein kompositorisches und pädagogisches Schaffen seien stellvertretend genannt: Ludwig-Spohr-Preis der Stadt Braunschweig 1953, Großes Bundesverdienstkreuz 1959, Großes Bundesverdienstkreuz mit Stern 1975, Ehrendoktorwürde des Music and Arts Institute San Francisco und Hugo-Wolf-Medaille der Internationalen Hugo-Wolf-Gesellschaft Wien 1976.

Hermann Reutter starb am 1. Januar 1985 in Heidenheim.

(aus www.schott-music.com)

Video-Kanal

Erster Internationaler Lied-Wettbewerb Bolko v. Hochberg  2022

Thema: HELLAS

Was

Lied-Wettbewerb

zum Thema "HELLAS"

Wann

21. -25. März 2022

Wo

Gerhart-Hautmann-Theater

Görlitz

Kontakt 

Für jede Frage stehen wir Ihnen zu Verfügung.

Eleni Ioannidou, Heinz Müller

Ars-Augusta e.V. Augustastraße 6, Görlitz 02826

liedcompetition@gmail.com

+49 3581 8778460

+49 177 4470120

+48 502 991789

Folgen Sie uns auch auf den Social Medias:

Kontakt
  • Facebook
  • YouTube

© 2021 Ars-Augusta e.V. (www.ars-augusta.org)