Bolko Graf von Hochberg (1843-1926)

Die Lieder

Gute Nacht (Emanuel Geibel) Op.31 No.2 Notes for high and low voice

 

"Gute Nacht" is the last poem from the third book under the title "Athens" of his "Youth poems" (Jugendgedichte, 1838–1840) Link to the text in german,

 

 

Bolko from Hochberg

Composer, artist, patron of music

Dr Grzegorz Joachimiak

Institute of Musicology at the University of Wroclaw Chair of Early Music at the Music Academy in Wrocław

 

Count Hans Heinrich XIV von Hochberg, known as Bolko, came from the well-known and well-known family who had their goods in different parts of Silesia. The spelling of their name (Hoberg, Hohberg, Hochberg) has changed over the decades. The family history goes back to the Middle Ages. The progenitor of all Silesian lineages was the knight Kitzold von Hoberg (1312-1349), who was the judge at the court of the dukes of Schweidnitz and Jauer.

Bolko von Hochberg's lineage, which forms the second main branch of the family, goes back to Kitzold's younger son, to Kitzold the younger (after 1386). Three generations later, one of Christoph von Dippelsdorf's sons, Conrad I (before 1481 , died 1520) and his wife Catharina von Liebenthal founder of the Fürstenstein line. He also owned the goods in Rohnstock. Another important turn-off was made by his children, the younger Christoph (d. 1535 or 1545) establishing a secondary line with the estates Fürstenstein, Ölse and Kinsberg. Came from this branch line

the next successors of Conrad II (1527-1565) in Fürstenstein, Ölse and Teichau: his younger son Heinrich I (1564-1613) in Ölse and Teichau, his son Hans Heinrich I. (1598-1671) in Fürstenstein and Rohnstein ( from 1650 baron, from 1666 count). His four children formed new family lines.

In connection with the genealogy Bolko von Höchbergs the first line is important, from which the imperial count in Fürstenstein, Rohnstein and Rothenburg, Hans Heinrich II. (1639-1698), descended. One of his sons was the famous Conrad Ernst Maximilian von Hochberg (1682-1742) Count and Baron zu Fürstenstein, Friedland, Waldenburg, Weisstein and Hartau, a member of the Order of St. John. He is known for the reconstruction of the Fürstenstein Palace in the Baroque style. A baroque hall that bears his name has been preserved. The continuation of the Hochberg line was ensured by his older brother, Hans Heinrich III. (1675 - 1743). The next important branch of the family took place only in the time of the Duke of Pless, the Count Hochberg, and the Fürtstenstein Count, Hans Heinrich X. (1806-1855), who was married twice.

From the first marriage with Ida Filipina Otylia von Stechow four children emerged: Hans Heinrich XI. (1833 - 1907), who administered the goods in Pless, Fürstenstein and Friedland. Hans Heinrich XII. Maximilian (died at birth in 1835), Hans Heinrich XIII. Konrad (1837-1858), Anna (1839-1916) and the youngest imperial count and baron in Fürstenstein, Hans Heinrich XIV. Bolko von Hochberg (1843-1926), who got the goods in Rohnstein and Neuschloss-Würchwitz near Militsch. Directly from the knight Kitzold von Hoberg, Bolko von Hochberg belonged to the seventeenth generation of the von Hochberg family, which at the beginning of the 20th century belonged to the most influential and wealthy aristocratic elite in Prussia.

Bolko von Hochberg was born on January 23, 1843 in the Fürstenstein family castle. He grew up in an atmosphere of courtly etiquette and got to know the customs prevailing in the castles of relatives and family members. Back then, music and hunting played an important role in court life. Even before Bolko's father took over the Pless estates, Pless had a music band that was richly equipped with instruments and a library. Although the music band was later greatly reduced, Bolko I and his siblings had plenty of opportunity to familiarize themselves with the sound of the Salon Quadrille, the Galician Waltz and finally the Salzbrunn gallop.

It was not until 1858, after the death of his brother Konrad Bolko, that Bolko became the owner of the castle in Rohnstock and Neuschloss-Würchwitz near Militsch. This inheritance took place before he finished the renowned Magdalene-Gymnasium (1856 - 1861) in Breslau, which was known throughout Prussia. The educational qualification acquired in Wroclaw made it possible for him

further studies. In the same year he began to study law at the universities in Bonn and Berlin. However, the passion for music awakened in the lap of the family lived on and he decided to develop himself musically. In Berlin he studied composition with Friedrich Kiel (1821-1901), a professor at the University of Music. In this way, Bolko combined legal competence with music, which had an impact on his future project.

After the end of military service (1867 to 1869), he first worked as a military attaché at the Prussian embassy in St. Petersburg, then he commanded a unit in Florence. Finally, he made several trips in 1868 and was concerned with the modernization of the castle in Rohnstock (from 1860), which was rebuilt in 1870 according to the design of the family architect Olivier Pavelt (1825-1892).

Then there was a turning point in his life. On September 2, 1869, in Saabor, Fürsteneich, he married Princess Eleonore Augusta von Schönaich-Carolath (1848-1923). They had eight children, of whom only six survived. The last of the sons, Gottfried (1882-1929), also showed great interest in music. It was also the time when Bolko became increasingly involved with music. Although he lived in the castle in Rohnstock, he also lived temporarily in Dresden, where he probably maintained a string quartet in the years 1872-1876. Robert Hausmann (1852-1909) played the cello.

8th

Gradually the music started to dominate Bolko's professional life. This was undoubtedly influenced by the successes that he had not only as an artist but also as an organizer of musical life. One of the first famous works came from the area of ​​the great musical forms of the Count of Hochberg, the singspiel "Claudine von Villa Bella" in three acts based on a libretto by Christian Garve based on the translation by Johann Wolfgang von Goethe. The work of art was premiered on February 22, 1864 on the stage of the court theater in Schwerin. The composer decided to use artistic pseudonyms and signed his works with "Herr Franz", "Johann Heinrich Franz" or "Pazdirek". An assignment of his works, which were signed in this form, is therefore possible.

In 1876 his opera "Falkensteiner" op. 21 was created in a romantic style with a libretto by Paul Frohberga, which also consists of three acts. The premiere took place on November 24 of the same year in the Hoftheater in Hanover. The opera was published in 1875 by the Johann André publishing house in Offenbach am Main.

The work was then revised by the composer and performed again on February 6, 1881 in the Dresden Court Theater. In Offenbach, the opera was introduced to the public in 1883 under the title "Werwolf". Count Bolko wrote about 90 musical works, including - in addition to the operas mentioned here - symphonies, a piano concerto with orchestra, chamber plays, trios, piano quartets, violin quartets and numerous songs and choral works.

It should be noted that the vast majority of his compositions were created in the 19th century. After 1900, he wrote only the trio in B flat major (1904), the quartet in B minor (1908), songs from op.36, 38, 39 (1904, 1905) and a piano concerto (1906). It can be assumed that the spread of music was very close to his heart, because Count Bolko von Hochberg did indeed excite above all as the organizer and protector of "the Silesian Music Festival" (Silesian Music Festival), which he organized from 1876.

A tradition of this type of musical event was already known because it originated in the 18th century. From 1830 there were regular music festivals with the title "Silesian Singing and Music Festival" based on the concept of Johann Gottfried Hientsch and Bernhard Klein. First there were male choirs and only since 1835 mixed choirs. Concerts took place annually, later every three years and then even less often, for example in Breslau, Jauer, Salzbrunn, Liegnitz, Bad Landeck and in Brieg.

There was a pause in the years 1856-1871. It was continued again in the summer of 1872 under the direction of Rudolf Thomas, a cantor in the Church of St. Elisabeth in Wroclaw. In 1874 the event took place again in Jauer, in which Count Bolko von Hochberg personally participated. He had experienced the “Rheinische Musikfeste” during his studies in Bonn and now saw that in comparison the Silesian Music Festival obviously had many organizational deficiencies. Therefore Bolko tried to organize well organized concerts in Silesia. His cycle bore the slightly changed name "Silesian Music Festivals", which were not only generally accepted, but also understood as a continuation of the earlier music festivals.

The first festival was held in Hirschberg in 1876, traditionally in the summer of July 16-18, the ninth in Wroclaw in 1887. However, most of the events were held in Görlitz. Bolko accompanied a total of nineteen festivals. He himself appeared as a singer and piano accompanist. His own works were also played. As before, the concerts had a monumental character, as there were usually more than a hundred musicians and hundreds of singers. (In 1903 there were 853 singers!)

Bolko also ensured that a suitable personality took over the management of the concerts. It was a conductor from Berlin, Ludwig Deppe (1828-1890), who participated in a total of nine festivals (apart from the festival in 1887) and conducted the orchestra. A suitable concert hall was necessary for such large productions. Bolko also knew how to take care of it. In 1878 the hall at the Reichenberger bridge was prepared accordingly. Bolko von Hochberg supported the project financially. 2000 listeners and 900 musicians found their place here and there was also an organ from the company Schlag & Söhne from Schweidnitz. The room was used until 1906. In 1910 a new concert hall was built in Görlitz, the so-called Musikfesthalle or Stadthalle.

Once again, Count Bolko had made a great contribution to its creation. He organized a lottery that paid over a third of the construction costs. He founded the Görlitz Singakademie in 1876. The city of Görlitz has awarded him the title "Honorary Citizen of the City". His artistic achievement was also highly valued and after the death of Botho von Hülsena he was appointed General Director of the Royal Theater on October 5, 1886. He was not only responsible for the opera theater in Berlin, but also in Hanover and Kassel.

In parallel to these activities, he worked for the Silesian Music Festival. He made prestigious, brave decisions; One of them was the inclusion of Richard Wagner's works in the repertoire of the Royal Theater. He has also employed several important conductors, including Richard Strauss. The performance of his opera "Feuersnot" in 1901 was not welcomed by the imperial-royal couple, which resulted in a conflict. The opera was removed from the program.

Despite the protest by Bolko von Hochberg, the opera could not be performed. The collaboration with the Royal Theater was questionable. In 1902 he waived his post and returned to his Silesian home in Rohnstein. He worked on his compositions and continued to work on the music festival.

Count Bolko von Hochberg was not only a philanthropist and promoter of music, but also a sports patron.

The "Silesia" swimming club in Wroclaw organized a competition on February 13, 1910, in which special prizes were awarded in various disciplines. Count Bolko financed the senior backstroke price over a distance of one hundred meters.

In 1913 he received the title of royal professor and gave lectures as chairman of the "German Society for Artistic Education" in Berlin. He tried very hard to popularize music. On September 9, 1918, he gave a lecture in his hometown Pless, which was accompanied by the violinist Johannes Belgen.

Bolko von Hochberg also participated in a stage club. As President, he took care of its members, especially their social interests and the pensions of the musicians who had ended their careers in the royal music theaters.

The form of the Silesian Music Festival introduced by him has been preserved until 1942. The last festival took place in Katowice with the conductors Philipp Wüsst and Fritz Lubrich. After the war, the Silesian Music Festival was reactivated, which not only ties in with the services and work of Bolko von Hochberg, but also with the Silesian tradition in general.

Count Hans Heinrich XIV of Hochberg, known as Bolko, died in the family health resort of Salzbrunn. He was buried in Rohnstein on December 1, 1926. His experience and skill as a musician, his creativity paired with the legal knowledge he gained at the

Organization of the music events have made him an outstanding and unforgettable personality in the history of music culture.

(Translation: Jolanta Szafarz and Heinz Müller)

 

Archives:

1. Archiwum Państwowe we Wrocławiu: Stowarzyszenie Szlachty Niemieckiej - Oddział Śląski we Wrocławiu, sygn. 231 "Count of Hochberg"

Music sources, posters:

1. Biblioteka Uniwersytecka we Wrocławiu [BUWr] 2. The Saxon State Library - State and University Library Dresden [SLUB]
3rd Bavarian State Library Munich [BSB]

4. Mainz City Library [StM]
5. The Library of Congress, USA [LoC] 6. Materiały od Pani Eleni Ioannidou

Magazines:

1. "General Sports Newspaper"
2. “The messenger from the Giant Mountains”
3. "Musical weekly"
4. “New magazine for music”
5. "Public Scoreboard for the District of Pless (Pless Stadtblatt)"
6. “Signals for the musical world”

 

Encyclopedias, lexicons, bibliographies:
1. Hugo Riemann's Music Lexicon, opr. Alfred Einstein, Berlin 1929.
2. Musical-literary monthly report, wyd. Friedrich Hofmeister, Leipzig 1829-1929.
4. The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, red. Stanley Sadie, t. 8, London 1980.
5. Silesian Music Encyclopedia, red. Lothar Hoffmann-Erbrecht, Augsburg 2001.
6. The music in past and present, red. Ludwig Finscher, person part, t. 9, Stuttgart 2003 [MGG2]
7. Encyklopedia Katolicka, t. 11, red. Eugeniusz Ziemann, Lublin 2006.

Edits

1. Aderhold, Stephan: Catalog of the music and archives of the Church of Peace in Schweidnitz, Kościół Pokoju w Świdnicy 2012.
2. Gondolatsch, Max: The Silesian Music Festivals and their Forerunners, Görlitz 1925.

3. Koch, Marianne: The Royal Playhouse in Berlin under Bolko Graf von Hochberg (1886-1902), dysertacja, Berlin 1957.
4. Kruczek, Jan: Z dziejów muzycznych Panów i Książąt Pszczyńskich. Od Promnitzów do Hochbergów, Pszczyna 2009.

5. Łuczyński, Romuald M .: Zamki, dwory i pałace w Sudetach, Legnica 2008.

6. Pośpiech, Remigiusz: Muzyka wielogłosowa w celebracji eucharystycznej na Śląsku w XVII i XVIII wieku, Opole 2004.
7. Subel, Joanna: Wrocławska chóralistyka. Tom I: 1817-1944, Wrocław 2008.

8. Weigelt, Carl: The Counts of Hochberg vom Fürstenstein. A contribution to the patriotic cultural history, wyd. Wilh. Gottl. Korn, Wroclaw 1896.

Video-Kanal

First international Lied competition

Bolko von Hochberg 2022

A song for HELLAS

What

Song competition

on the subject of "HELLAS"

When

21.-25. March 2022

Where

Gerhart-Hautmann-Theater

Görlitz

Kontakt 

We are at your disposal for any question.

Eleni Ioannidou, Heinz Müller

Ars-Augusta e.V. Augustastraße 6, Görlitz 02826

liedcompetition@gmail.com

+49 3581 8778460

+49 177 4470120

+48 502 991789

 

Follow us on social media:

 

Contact
  • Facebook
  • YouTube

© 2021 Ars-Augusta e.V. (www.ars-augusta.org)

Bolko Graf von Hochberg (1843-1926)

Die Lieder

Gute Nacht (Emanuel Geibel) Op.31 No.2      Noten für hohe und tiefe Stimme     

Das Gedicht "Gute Nacht" von Emanuel Geibel gehört zur Sammlung "Jugendgedichte", Drittes Buch unter dem Titel "Athen"

Eine Biographie

Bolko von Hochberg

Komponist, Künstler, Musikmäzen

Dr Grzegorz Joachimiak

Institut für Musikwissenschaft an der Universität Wroclaw Lehrstuhl für alte Musik an der Musikakademie in Wrocław

Graf Hans Heinrich XIV. von Hochberg, genannt Bolko, stammte aus der traditionsreichen und bekannten Familie, die ihre Güter in verschiedenen Teilen von Schlesien hatte. Die Schreibart ihres Namens (Hoberg, Hohberg, Hochberg) hat sich im Laufe der Jahrzehnte verändert. Die Familiengeschichte geht auf das Mittelalter zurück. Der Stammvater aller schlesischen Stammlinien war der Ritter Kitzold von Hoberg (1312-1349), der das Richteramt am Hofe der Herzöge von Schweidnitz und Jauer innehatte.

Bolko von Hochbergs Abstammungslinie, die den zweiten Hauptzweig der Familie bildet, geht auf den jüngeren Sohn von Kitzold, auf Kitzold den Jüngeren zurück (nach 1386), Drei Generationen später wurde einer der ersten Söhne von Christoph von Dippelsdorf, Conrad I. (vor 1481, gest. 1520) und seine Frau Catharina von Liebenthal Begründer der Fürstensteinlinie. Er besaß auch die Güter in Rohnstock. Eine weitere wichtige Abzweigung erfolgte durch seine Kinder, wobei der jüngere Christoph (gest. 1535 oder 1545) mit den Gütern Fürstenstein, Ölse und Kinsberg eine Nebenlinie begründete. Aus dieser Nebenlinie stammten

die nächsten Nachfolger Conrads II. (1527 -1565) in Fürstenstein, Ölse und Teichau: Sein jüngerer Sohn Heinrich I. (1564 -1613) in Ölse und Teichau, sein Sohn Hans Heinrich I. (1598-1671) in Fürstenstein und Rohnstein (ab 1650 Baron, ab 1666 Graf). Seine vier Kinder bildeten neue Stammlinien.

Im Zusammenhang mit der Genealogie Bolko von Höchbergs ist die erste Linie wichtig, von welcher der kaiserliche Graf in Fürstenstein, Rohnstein und Rothenburg, Hans Heinrich II. (1639-1698), abstammte. Einer seiner Söhne war der berühmte Conrad Ernst Maximilian von Hochberg (1682-1742) Reichsgraf und Baron zu Fürstenstein, Friedland, Waldenburg, Weisstein und Hartau, ein Mitglied des Johanniterordens. Er ist für den Umbau des Schlosses Fürstenstein im Barockstil bekannt. Erhalten geblieben ist ein barocker Saal, der seinen Namen trägt. Die Fortsetzung der Hochberg-Linie wurde jedoch von seinem älteren Bruder, Hans Heinrich III., gewährleistet (1675 - 1743). Die nächste wichtige Verzweigung der Familie erfolgte erst in der Zeit des Herzogs von Pless, des Grafen Hochberg, und des Fürtstenstein-Grafen, Hans Heinrich X. (1806-1855), der zweimal verheiratet war.

Aus der ersten Ehe mit Ida Filipina Otylia von Stechow gingen vier Kinder hervor: Hans Heinrich XI. (1833 – 1907), der die Güter in Pless, Fürstenstein und Friedland verwaltete. Hans Heinrich XII. Maximilian (bei der Geburt 1835 gestorben), Hans Heinrich XIII. Konrad (1837-1858), Anna (1839-1916) und der jüngste kaiserliche Graf und Baron in Fürstenstein, Hans Heinrich XIV. Bolko von Hochberg (1843-1926), welcher die Güter in Rohnstein und Neuschloss- Würchwitz bei Militsch bekam. In direkter Linie vom Ritter Kitzold von Hoberg gehörte Bolko von Hochberg der siebzehnten Generation der Familie von Hochberg an, die zu Beginn des 20. Jahrhunderts zu der einflussreichsten und wohlhabendsten aristokratischen Elite in Preußen gehörte.

Bolko von Hochberg wurde am 23. Januar 1843 im Familienstammschloss Fürstenstein geboren. Er wuchs in einer Atmosphäre der höfischen Etikette auf und lernte die in den Schlössern der Verwandten und Familienangehörigen herrschenden Sitten kennen. Damals nahm die Musik und die Jagd im Hofleben einen wichtigen Platz ein. Schon vor der Übernahme der Pless-Güter durch Bolkos Vater bestand in Pless eine Musikkapelle, die reich mit Instrumenten und mit einer Bibliothek ausgestattet war. Obwohl die Musikkapelle später stark reduziert wurde, hatten Bolko I. und seine Geschwister reichlich Gelegenheit, sich mit dem Klang der Salon Quadrille, des Galizischen Walzers und schließlich der Salzbrunner Galoppe vertraut zu machen.

Erst im Jahre 1858, nach dem Tod seines Bruders Konrad Bolko, wurde Bolko zum Besitzer des Schlosses in Rohnstock und von Neuschloss-Würchwitz in der Nähe von Militsch. Diese Erbschaft erfolgte noch bevor er das renommierte und in ganz Preußen bekannte Magdalenen- Gymnasium (1856 – 1861) in Breslau beendete. Der in Breslau erworbene Bildungsabschluss ermöglichte ihm ein

weiterführendes Studium. Im selben Jahr begann er Rechtswissenschaften an der Universität in Bonn und Berlin zu studieren. Allerdings lebte in ihm die im Schoß der Familie erweckte Leidenschaft für Musik fort und er beschloss, sich musikalisch weiter zu entwickeln. In Berlin studierte er Komposition bei Friedrich Kiel (1821-1901), einem Professor an der Hochschule für Musik. Auf diese Weise verband Bolko juristische Kompetenz mit Musik, was einen Einfluss auf sein zukünftiges Vorhaben hatte.

Nach dem Ende des Militärdienstes (1867 bis 1869) war er zunächst als Militärattaché an der preußischen Botschaft in St. Petersburg tätig, danach kommandierte er eine Einheit in Florenz. Schließlich unternahm er im Jahr 1868 mehrere Reisen und beschäftigte sich mit der Modernisierung des Schlosses in Rohnstock (ab 1860), das im Jahr 1870 nach dem Entwurf des Familienarchitekten Olivier Pavelt (1825-1892) umgebaut wurde.

Dann folgte eine Wendezeit in seinem Leben. Am 2. September 1869, in Saabor, Fürsteneich, heiratete er Prinzessin Eleonore Augusta von Schönaich-Carolath (1848-1923). Sie hatten acht Kinder, von denen aber nur sechs überlebten. Der letzte der Söhne, Gottfried (1882-1929) zeigte ebenfalls großes Interesse an der Musik. Es war auch die Zeit, in der Bolko sich zunehmend intensiver mit Musik beschäftigte. Zwar lebte er im Schloss in Rohnstock, wohnte er aber auch vorübergehend in Dresden, wo er wahrscheinlich in den Jahren 1872-1876 ein Streichquartett unterhielt. Robert Hausmann (1852-1909) spielte Cello.

8

Allmählich begann die Musik Bolkos berufliches Leben zu dominieren. Darauf hatten zweifellos die Erfolge Einfluss, die er nicht nur als Künstler hatte, sondern auch als ein Organisator des Musiklebens. Eines der ersten berühmten Werke stammte aus dem Bereich der großen musikalischen Formen des Grafen von Hochberg, das Singspiel „Claudine von Villa Bella“ in drei Akten nach einem Libretto von Christian Garve auf der Grundlage der Übertragung von Johann Wolfgang von Goethe. Das Kunstwerk wurde am 22. Februar 1864 auf der Bühne des Hoftheaters in Schwerin uraufgeführt. Der Komponist beschloss, künstlerische Pseudonyme zu benutzen und unterzeichnete seine Werke mit "Herr Franz", "Johann Heinrich Franz" oder "Pazdirek". Eine Zuordnung seiner Werke, die in dieser Form signiert wurden, ist daher möglich.

Im Jahre 1876 entstand seine Oper „Falkensteiner“ op. 21 im romantischen Stil mit einem Libretto von Paul Frohberga, die ebenfalls aus drei Akten besteht. Die Uraufführung fand am 24. November desselben Jahres im Hoftheater in Hannover statt. Die Oper wurde 1875 im Johann-André- Verlag in Offenbach am Main herausgegeben.

Das Werk wurde dann vom Komponisten überarbeitet und erneut am 6. Februar 1881 im Dresdener Hoftheater aufgeführt. In Offenbach wurde die Oper 1883 unter dem Titel „Werwolf“ dem Publikum vorgestellt. Graf Bolko verfasste etwa 90 Musikwerke, darunter - neben den hier genannten Opern - Symphonien, ein Klavierkonzert mit Orchester, Kammerspiele, Trios, Klavierquartette, Violinquartette sowie zahlreiche Lieder und Chorwerke.

Es sei darauf hingewiesen, dass die überwiegende Mehrheit seiner Kompositionen noch im 19. Jahrhundert entstand. Nach 1900 schrieb er nur das Trio in b-Dur (1904), das Quartett in b-Moll (1908), Lieder aus op. 36, 38, 39 (1904, 1905) und ein Klavierkonzert (1906). Es ist anzunehmen, dass ihm die Verbreitung der Musik sehr am Herzen lag, denn Graf Bolko von Hochberg hat in sich in der Tat vor allem als Organisator und Beschützer "der schlesischen Musikfestspiele" (Schlesische Musikfeste) hervorgetan, die er von 1876 an organisierte.

Eine Tradition dieser Art von Musikveranstaltung war schon früher bekannt, denn sie stammte aus dem 18. Jahrhundert. Ab 1830 fanden regelmäßig Musik-Festivals mit dem Titel "Schlesisches Gesangs- und Musikfest“ statt nach dem Konzept von Johann Gottfried Hientsch und Bernhard Klein. Zunächst präsentierte man Männerchöre und erst seit 1835 auch gemischte Chöre. Konzerte fanden jährlich, später alle drei Jahre und dann noch seltener statt, u.a. in Breslau, Jauer, Salzbrunn, Liegnitz, Bad Landeck und in Brieg.

In den Jahren 1856-1871 trat eine Pause ein. Eine erneute Fortsetzung erfolgte im Sommer 1872 unter der Leitung von Rudolf Thomas, eines Kantors in der Kirche der Hl. Elisabeth in Breslau. Im Jahre 1874 fand in Jauer erneut die Veranstaltung statt, an der Graf Bolko von Hochberg persönlich teilnahm. Er hatte während seines Studiums in Bonn die „Rheinische Musikfeste“ erlebt und sah nun, dass im Vergleich damit das Schlesische Musikfest offen- sichtlich viele organisatorische Mängel hatte. Daher bemühte sich Bolko um gut organisierte Konzerte in Schlesien. Sein Zyklus trug den leicht geänderten Namen „Schlesische Musikfeste“, die nicht nur allgemein akzeptiert, sondern auch als eine Fortsetzung der früheren Musikfeste verstanden wurden.

Das erste Fest fand 1876 in Hirschberg statt, traditionell im Sommer vom 16. bis 18. Juli, das neunte 1887 in Breslau. Die meisten Veranstaltungen wurden jedoch in Görlitz abgehalten. Bolko begleitete insgesamt neunzehn Feste. Er selbst trat als Sänger und Klavierbegleiter auf. Auch seine eigenen Werke wurden gespielt. Die Konzerte hatten wie früher einen monumentalen Charakter, denn in der Regel traten mehr als hundert Musiker und Hunderte von Sängern auf. (1903 waren es sogar 853 Sänger!)

Bolko sorgte auch dafür, dass eine geeignete Persönlichkeit die Führung der Konzerte übernahm. Es war ein Dirigent aus Berlin, Ludwig Deppe (1828-1890), der an insgesamt neun Festen (außer dem Fest im Jahre 1887) beteiligt war und das Orchester dirigierte. Für derart große Inszenierungen wurde allerdings ein geeigneter Konzertsaal notwendig. Bolko wusste auch dafür zu sorgen. Im Jahre 1878 hatte man den Saal an der Reichenberger Brücke entsprechend vorbereitet. Bolko von Hochberg unterstützte das Vorhaben finanziell. 2000 Zuhörer und 900 Musiker fanden hier ihren Platz und dort befand sich auch eine Orgel der Firma Schlag & Söhne aus Schweidnitz. Der Raum wurde bis zum Jahre 1906 benutzt. 1910 entstand ein neuer Konzertsaal in Görlitz, die sogenannte Musikfesthalle oder Stadthalle.

Wieder einmal hatte Graf Bolko bei ihrer Entstehung einen großen Beitrag geleistet. Er organisierte eine Lotterie, die mehr als ein Drittel der Baukosten einbrachte. Er gründete 1876 die Görlitzer Singakademie. Die Stadt Görlitz hat ihm den Titel „Ehrenbürger der Stadt“ verliehen. Auch seine künstlerische Leistung wurde hochgeschätzt und nach dem Tod von Botho von Hülsena wurde er am 5. Oktober 1886 zum Generalintendanten der königlichen Schauspiele berufen. Er war nicht nur für die Operntheater in Berlin, sondern auch in Hannover und Kassel zuständig.

Parallel zu diesen Aktivitäten verlief seine Arbeit für die Schlesischen Musikfeste. Er traf prestigeträchtige, mutige Entscheidungen; Eine davon war die Aufnahme der Werke von Richard Wagner in das Repertoire des Königlichen Theaters. Er hat auch mehrere bedeutende Dirigenten angestellt, darunter Richard Strauss. Die Aufführung seiner Oper „Feuersnot“ 1901 wurde von dem kaiserlich- königlichen Paar nicht begrüßt, was einen Konflikt zur Folge hatte. Die Oper wurde vom Spielplan abgesetzt.

Trotz des Protestes Bolko von Hochbergs durfte die Oper nicht aufgeführt werden. Die Zusammenarbeit mit dem Königlichen Theater stand unter einem Fragezeichen. 1902 verzichtete er auf seinen Posten und kehrte in seine schlesische Heimat nach Rohnstein zurück. Er arbeitete an seinen Kompositionen und beschäftigte sich weiter mit dem Musikfest.

Graf Bolko von Hochberg war nicht nur ein Philanthrop und Förderer der Musik, sondern auch ein Sportmäzen.

Der Schwimmklub "Silesia" in Breslau organisierte am 13. Februar 1910 einen Wettbewerb, bei dem in verschiedenen Disziplinen Sonderpreise vergeben wurden. Graf Bolko finanzierte den Preis im Senioren-Rückenschwimmen über eine Distanz von einhundert Metern.

1913 erhielt er den Titel eines königlichen Professors und hielt als Vorsitzender der „Deutsche Gesellschaft für Künstlerische Volkserziehung“ in Berlin Vorträge. Er bemühte sich sehr um die Popularisierung der Musik. Am 9. September 1918 hielt er in seiner Heimatstadt Pless einen Vortrag, der von dem Geiger Johannes Belgen musikalisch begleitet wurde.

Bolko von Hochberg wirkte auch in einem Bühnenverein mit. Als Präsident sorgte er für dessen Mitglieder, vor allem für deren sozialen Belange und die Ruhegehälter der Musiker, die ihre Karriere in den königlichen Musiktheatern beendet hatten.

Die von ihm eingeführte Form des Schlesischen Musikfestes ist bis zum Jahre 1942 erhalten geblieben. Das letzte Fest fand in Kattowitz mit den Dirigenten Philipp Wüsst und Fritz Lubrich statt. Nach dem Krieg wurde das Schlesische Musikfest reaktiviert, was nicht nur an die Verdienste und Arbeit Bolko von Hochbergs anknüpft, sondern an die schlesische Tradition allgemein.

Graf Hans Heinrich XIV. von Hochberg, genannt Bolko, ist in dem Familienkurort Salzbrunn gestorben. Am 1.Dezember 1926 wurde er in Rohnstein beigesetzt. Seine Erfahrungen und sein Können als Musiker, seine Kreativität gepaart mit juristischem Wissen, das er bei der

Organisation der Musikveranstaltungen nutzte, haben ihn zu einer herausragenden und unvergesslichen Persönlichkeit in der Geschichte der Musikkultur werden lassen.

(Übersetzung: Jolanta Szafarz und Heinz Müller)

Archivschriften:

1. Archiwum Państwowe we Wrocławiu: Stowarzyszenie Szlachty Niemieckiej – Oddział Śląski we Wrocławiu, sygn. 231 „Graf von Hochberg”

Musikquellen, Plakate:

1. Biblioteka Uniwersytecka we Wrocławiu [BUWr] 2. Die Sächsische Landesbibliothek – Staats- und Universitätsbibliothek Dresden [SLUB]
3. Bayerische Staatsbibliothek München [BSB]

4. Stadtbibliothek Mainz [StM]
5. The Library of Congress, USA [LoC] 6. Materiały od Pani Eleni Ioannidou

Zeitschriften:

1. „Allgemeine Sport-Zeitung”
2. „Der Bote aus dem Riesengebirge”
3. „Musikalisches Wochenblatt”
4. „Neue Zeitschrift für Musik”
5. „Öffentlicher Anzeiger für den Kreis Pless (Pless Stadtblatt)”
6. „Signale für die musikalische Welt”

Enzyklopädien, Lexikone, Bibliographien:
1. Hugo Riemanns Musik Lexikon, opr. Alfred Einstein, Berlin 1929.
2. Musikalisch-literarischer Monatsbericht, wyd. Friedrich Hofmeister, Leipzig 1829-1929.
4. The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, red. Stanley Sadie, t. 8, London 1980.
5. Schlesisches Musiklexikon, red. Lothar Hoffmann-Erbrecht, Augsburg 2001.
6. Die Musik in Geschichte und Gegenwart, red. Ludwig Finscher, Personenteil, t. 9, Stuttgart 2003 [MGG2]
7. Encyklopedia Katolicka, t. 11, red. Eugeniusz Ziemann, Lublin 2006.

Bearbeitungen

1. Aderhold, Stephan: Katalog der Musikalien und Archivalien der Friedenskirche zu Schweidnitz, Kościół Pokoju w Świdnicy 2012.
2. Gondolatsch, Max: Die Schlesischen Musikfeste und ihre Vorläufer, Görlitz 1925.

3. Koch, Marianne: Das Königliche Schauspielhaus in Berlin unter Bolko Graf von Hochberg (1886-1902), dysertacja, Berlin 1957.
4. Kruczek, Jan: Z dziejów muzycznych Panów i Książąt Pszczyńskich. Od Promnitzów do Hochbergów, Pszczyna 2009.

5. Łuczyński, Romuald M.: Zamki, dwory i pałace w Sudetach, Legnica 2008.

6. Pośpiech, Remigiusz: Muzyka wielogłosowa w celebracji eucharystycznej na Śląsku w XVII i XVIII wieku, Opole 2004.
7. Subel, Joanna: Wrocławska chóralistyka. Tom I: 1817-1944, Wrocław 2008.

8. Weigelt, Carl: Die Grafen von Hochberg vom Fürstenstein. Ein Beitrag zur vaterländischen Culturgeschichte, wyd. Wilh. Gottl. Korn, Breslau 1896.

Video-Kanal

Erster Internationaler Lied-Wettbewerb Bolko v.Hochberg  2021

Thema: HELLAS

Was

Lied-Wettbewerb

zum Thema "HELLAS"

Wann

22. -25. März 2021

Anmeldefrist:

30. November 2020

Wo

Gerhart-Hautmann-Theater

Görlitz

Kontakt 

Für jede Frage stehen wir Ihnen zu Verfügung.

Eleni Ioannidou, Heinz Müller

Ars-Augusta e.V. Augustastraße 6, Görlitz 02826

liedcompetition@gmail.com

+49 3581 8778460

+49 177 4470120

+48 502 991789

Folgen Sie uns auch auf den Social Medias:

Kontakt
  • Facebook
  • YouTube
  • Instagram

© 2020 Ars-Augusta e.V. (www.ars-augusta.org)