Banner_na_stronę.png

First international

Lied Competition
Bolko von Hochberg

|   Hellas

12 - 16 JUNE 2022

GÖRLITZ-ZGORZELEC

About the competition

The cultural association Ars-Augusta eV is organizing the " First International Lied Competition Bolko von Hochberg" from June 12th to 16th, 2022 in Görlitz-Zgrozelec at the Miejski Dom Kultury and Gerhart-Hauptmann-Theater.

Bolko von Hochberg (1843-1926), composer and impressario, is closely linked to the history of the European city of Görlitz-Zgorzelec, which lies directly on the border between Germany and Poland. His love of the human voice and his belief in the power of music to unite European nations gave us the idea of dedicating the international lieder singing competition to him, to encourage new talent and the hidden treasures of the most beautiful little musical form: again to discover - the song.

Jury

unnamed.jpg

Prof. Britta Schwarz

Altistin, Hochschule für Musik und darstellende Kunst, Dresden

Britta Schwarz performs with renowned orchestras such as the Berlin Philharmonic, the Staatskapelle Dresden, the Concertgebouworkest Amsterdam, the Israel Philharmonic Orchestra, the Academy of St. Martin in the Fields and the Cappella Andrea Barca. She also works with important baroque ensembles such as the Freiburg Baroque Orchestra, Musica Antiqua Cologne, the Academy for Early Music Berlin and the Rias Chamber Choir. Britta Schwarz has been teaching at the "Carl Maria von Weber" Academy of Music in Dresden for several years. In the summer of 2015 she was appointed honorary professor at the "Hanns Eisler Academy of Music" in Berlin.

unnamed-1.jpg

Prof. Alexander Schmalcz

Pianist, Hochschule für Musik und darstellende Kunst, Leipzig

Alexander Schmalcz received piano lessons even as a young chorister with the Dresdner Kreuzchor. After studying at institutions such as the Utrecht Conservatoire or the "Guildhall School of Music and Drama" in London, he won numerous prizes and began an international career as a pianist for chamber music and song accompaniment at the largest events and festivals in the world. He works regularly with singers such as Matthias Goerne, Grace Bumbry, Konrad Jarnot, Marcus Ullmann, Stephan Loges, Doris Soffel and others. His discographic work is particularly noteworthy, especially as a song accompanist.

Al.Charkiolakis

Alexandros Charkiolakis

General Director, The Friends of Music Society, Megaron Musikis Athinon

Alexandros Charkiolakis studied at the Greek Conservatory and at the University of Sheffield and worked as a musicologist and coordinator for educational projects in the Greek music library "Lilian Voudouri". In 2013 he became head of the music library "Erol Üçer" at MIAM - Istanbul Technical University. In May 2017 he took over the position of Director of the Society of Friends of Music in Athens. He has written and edited several books. His research interests include historical musicology, music information resources, music and digital culture. He is also President of the Board of Directors of the Greek IAML Division.

Biegas Ewa.jpg

Prof. Ewa Biegas

Soprano, professor at the Academy of Music "Karol Szymanowski" in Katowice

Ewa Biegas studied soprano in Gliwice and Katowice, then at the University of Music and Performing Arts in Vienna. In the years 1998-2002 she was a scholarship holder of the Minister of Culture and Arts of the Republic of Poland, the Austrian Government and the Swiss Foundation Dr. Robert Thyll-Dur Prestige. She has won prizes at numerous national and international singing competitions. She made her opera debut in 1999 at the Vienna Studiobühne. He is currently working with the National Opera in Warsaw, the Kraków Opera, the Košice Opera in Slovakia, the Łódź Opera, the Baltic Opera, the Vienna Chamber Opera, the Bytom Opera, the Opera de Montreal, the Teatro Colon, the Opava -Opera, etc. Since 2005 lecturer at the Academy of Music "Karol Szymanowski" in Katowice, since 2019 he has been the rector of the Faculty of Singing and Drama.

IMG_5125.jpg

Bartosz Żurakowski

First conductor of the Sudeten Philharmonic in Wałbrzych, artistic director of the "Belle voci" festival

The conductor, who comes from Opole, completed his studies at the "Fryderyk Chopin" Music Academy in Warsaw and management studies at the University of the same city and at the Rotterdam School of Management of the Erasmus University. He began his career as a conductor at the Philharmonic in his native city. Since 2015 he has been principal conductor of the Sudeten Philharmonic in Waldenburg. He has appeared as a conductor in halls such as Carnegie Hall in New York, Palacio de Bellas Artes in Mexico City (Mexico) or the Royal Concert Hall in Glasgow (Scotland).  He is director of a foundation for the promotion of young talents and organizes the international festival "Belle Voci" and the festival "The Masters of Prayer in Music".

ulrich-kern-01.jpg

Ulrich Kern

Conductor, first conductor and deputy general music director at the Görlitz Theater

Born in Stuttgart, the now internationally sought-after conductor studied at the music academies in Stuttgart and Weimar. He received further decisive impulses from Bernard Haitink, Jorma Panula and, in the USA, from David Zinman. Thanks to support from the conductors' forum of the German Music Council, he conducted at the Staatstheater Mainz and the Kiel Opera, among others. Ulrich Kern has meanwhile conducted more than 50 stage works. His repertoire ranges from Mozart's late operas, Wagner's "Tannhäuser", Stravinsky's "Le sacre du printemps" to Henze's last opera "Gisela!", which he taught at the Semperoper Dresden in 2012.

www.ulrichkern.com

Eleni1 2.jpg

Eleni Ioannidou
Artistic Director

Sopran, künstlerische Leitung Ars-Augusta e.V.

Eleni Ioannidou comes from Wroclaw and studied singing in Volos and Athens, at the University of Music in Vienna and at the Accademia della Scala di Milano with Leyla Gencer. As a winner of several international competitions, she received her first engagements in her field, especially with Mozart and Verdi on Italian stages. In 2010 she began to make a name for herself as a producer and manager of cultural projects. After initial successes in Munich, she founded the Ars-Augusta eV association in Görlitz in 2017 to promote art, culture and international understanding. As head of the association, she discovered, among other things, two forgotten baroque operas from the cultural heritage of the region and enabled their re-performance. She is also the founder of the Polish-German "Lausitz Baroque Ensemble" and the initiator of the international song competition "Bolko von Hochberg" in Görlitz.

www.arsaugusta.org

 

Prizes

1st Prize

Dr. Herbert Speckner Prize of the Ottobrunn community

€6,000, for the duo , recital, sound recording
 

2nd prize

of the Sparkasse Oberlausitz-Niederschlesien and the district of Görlitz

€4,000 for the duo , recital , sound recording

3rd prize

the city of Gorlitz

€2,000 for the duo , recital , sound recording
€1,000 , special prize for the best piano accompaniment

Special prize

A concert with orchestra in the 2022-2023 season
 

Places

2560px-Görlitz_Theater_01.jpg

Gerhart Hauptmann Theater in Görlitz

Wie kommen Sie nach Görllitz, wo können Sie günstig und gut übernachten.

Demianiplatz 2

02826 Görlitz

The Gerhart Hauptmann Theater is the theater building for opera, theater and dance in Görlitz. Opened in 1851, it is popularly known as the "Small Semperoper" because of the opulent interior. The architect Eduard Titz (1820-1890), who came from what is now Liberec, built numerous other theaters in addition to the theater in Görlitz, especially in Berlin, for example the German Theater and the Carl Maria von Weber Theater in Bernburg (Saale). . He was inspired by the classicism of the architect Karl von Schinkel.

www.ght.de

Miejski Dom Kultury

Wie kommen Sie nach Görllitz, wo können Sie günstig und gut übernachten.

(Oberlausitzer Gedenkhalle)

ulica Parkowa 1

59-900 Zgorzelec, Poland

The former "Upper Lusatian Hall of Fame or Memorial Hall" is an important monument of the Gründerzeit (Wilhelminian period) in the European city of Görlitz-Zgorzelec. Conceived as a building in honor of the Prussian emperors, it was opened in 1902 by Wilhelm II. Important sculptures adorn the building: "War" and "Peace", the "Victoria" above the pediment, the "Art" and "History" groups on the front. Today the building functions as the Municipal House of Culture in Zgorzelec. It has numerous exhibition and meeting rooms and a concert hall with a Kawai grand piano.

www.mdk.zgorzelec.eu

Zgorzelec_190906_15_dom_kulturny.jpg
 
GR-Embassy_Berlin_Logo.jpg
Görlitz Schriftzug.png

patronage

organizer

nowe logo ARS AUGUSTA_final.png
Unknown.jpg
gerhart-hauptmann-theater-goerlitz-zittau-gmbh.png
 

Sponsors

Wappen-1000px.png

Gemeinde Ottobrunn

Görlitz Schriftzug geändert (2).tif
logo-landkreis-goerlitz.png
LogoStiftung-hohe Aufl.jpg
Logo_rot auf weiß.jpg
Logo Hotel Best Western.jpg
Bechstein JPG.png
kAUFHAUS lOGO.jpeg

Banner_na_stronę.png

Erster internationaler

Lied-Wettbewerb
Bolko von Hochberg

|   Hellas

12. - 16. JUNI 2022

GÖRLITZ-ZGORZELEC

Die nächste Ausgabe des internationalen Liedwettbewerbs „Bolko von Hochberg“ ist für Juni 2024 geplant. Die Informationen, Ausschreibung und Repertoire werden am 22. Oktober 2022 auf dieser Seite bekannt gegeben.

Über den Wettbewerb

Der Kulturverein Ars-Augusta e.V. veranstaltete vom 12. bis 16. Juni 2022 am Gerhart-Hauptmann-Theater in Görlitz-Zgrozelec den "Ersten Internationalen Lied-Wettbewerb Bolko von Hochberg". Bolko von Hochberg (1843-1926), Komponist und Impressario, ist eng mit der Geschichte der Europastadt Görlitz-Zgorzelec verbunden, die direkt an der Grenze zwischen Deutschland und Polen liegt. Seine Liebe zur menschlichen Stimme und sein Glaube an die Kraft der Musik, europäische Nationen zu vereinen, brachten uns auf die Idee, ihm den internationalen Wettbewerb für Liedgesang zu widmen, um neue Talente zu fördern und die verborgenen Schätze der schönsten kleinen musikalischen Form wieder zu entdecken: das Lied.

Jury 2022

unnamed.jpg

Prof. Britta Schwarz

Altistin, Hochschule für Musik und darstellende Kunst, Dresden

Britta Schwarz tritt mit renommierten Orchestern wie den Berliner Philharmonikern, der Staatskapelle Dresden, dem Concertgebouworkest Amsterdam, dem Israel Philharmonic Orchestra, der Academy of St. Martin in the Fields und der Cappella Andrea Barca als Altistin auf. Außerdem arbeitet sie mit bedeutenden Barock-Ensembles wie z.B. dem Freiburger Barockorchester, mit Musica Antiqua Köln, der Akademie für Alte Musik Berlin und dem Rias Kammerchor zusammen .Seit einigen Jahren lehrt Britta Schwarz an der Hochschule für Musik "Carl Maria von Weber" in Dresden. Im Sommer 2015 wurde sie an der Hochschule für Musik "Hanns Eisler" in Berlin zur Honorarprofessorin ernannt.

unnamed-1.jpg

Prof. Alexander Schmalcz

Pianist, Hochschule für Musik und darstellende Kunst, Leipzig

Schon als junger Chorist des Dresdner Kreuzchores erhielt Alexander Schmalcz Klavierunterricht. Nach dem Studium an Institutionen wie dem Utrecht Conservatoire oder der "Guildhall School of Music und Drama" in London gewinnt er zahlreiche Preise und beginnt eine internationale Karriere als Pianist für Kammermusik und Liedbegleitung auf den grössten Veranstaltungen und Festivals der Welt. Er arbeitet regelmässig mit Sängern wie Matthias Goerne, Grace Bumbry, Konrad Jarnot, Marcus Ullmann, Stephan Loges, Doris Soffel u.a. Besonders hervorzuheben ist seine diskografische Tätigkeit, vor allem als Lied-Begleiter.

Al.Charkiolakis

Alexandros Charkiolakis

Generaldirektor, Gesellschaft der Freunde der Musik, Megaron Musikis Athinon

Alexandros Charkiolakis hat am Griechischen Konservatorium und an der University of Sheffield studiert und arbeitete als Musikwissenschaftler und Koordinator für Bildungsprojekte in der griechischen Musikbibliothek „Lilian Voudouri“. 2013 wurde er Leiter der Musikbibliothek „Erol Üçer“ am MIAM - Istanbul Technical University. Im Mai 2017 übernahm er die Stelle des Direktors der Gesellschaft der Freunde der Musik in Athen. Er hat mehrere Bücher geschrieben und herausgegeben. Seine Forschungsinteressen umfassen historische Musikwissenschaft, Musikinformationsressourcen, Musik und digitale Kultur. Er ist außerdem Präsident des Verwaltungsrates der griechischen IAML-Abteilung.

Biegas Ewa.jpg

Prof. Ewa Biegas

Sopran, Prof. in der Hochschule für Musik "Karol Szymanowski" in Katowice

Ewa Biegas studierte Sopran in Gliwice und Katowice, dann an der Universität für Musik und Darstellende Kunst in Wien. In den Jahren 1998-2002 war sie Stipendiatin des Ministers für Kultur und Kunst der Republik Polen, der österreichischen Regierung und der Schweizer Stiftung Dr. Robert Thyll-Dur Prestige. Sie ist Preisträgerin zahlreicher nationaler und internationaler Gesangswettbewerbe. Ihr Operndebüt gab sie 1999 an der Wiener Studiobühne. Derzeit arbeitet sie mit der Nationaloper in Warschau, der Krakauer Oper, der Košice-Oper in der Slowakei, der Łódź-Oper, der Baltischen Oper, der Wiener Kammeroper, der Bytom-Oper, der Opera de Montreal, dem Teatro Colon, der Opava-Oper u.a. zusammen. Seit 2005 Dozentin an der Hochschule für Musik "Karol Szymanowski" in Katowice, seit 2019 ist sie Rektorin der Fakultät für Gesang und Schauspiel.

IMG_5125.jpg

Bartosz Żurakowski

Erster Dirigent der Sudeten-Philharmonie in Waldenburg, Künstlerischer Leiter des Festivals "Belle Voci"

Der aus Oppeln stammende Dirigent absolvierte sein Studium an der Musikakademie "Fryderyk Chopin" in Warschau sowie ein Managementstudium an der Universität der selben Stadt sowie an der Rotterdamer School of Management der Erasmus-Universität. Seine Karriere als Drigent begann er an der Philharmonie seiner Geburtstadt. Seit 2015 ist er erster Dirigent der Sudeten-Philharmonie in Waldenburg. Er trat als Dirigent in Sälen wie Carnegie Hall in New York, Palacio de Bellas Artes in Mexiko-Stadt (Mexiko) oder Royal Concert Hall in Glasgow (Schottland) auf.  Er ist Leiter einer Stiftung für die Förderung junger Talente und organisiert das internationale Festival "Belle Voci" sowie das Festival "Die Meister des Gebets in der Musik".

ulrich-kern-01.jpg

Ulrich Kern

Dirigent, Erster Kapellmeister und stellvertretender Generalmusikdirektor am Theater Görlitz

In Stuttgart geboren, studierte der mittlerweile international gefragte Dirigent an den Musikhochschulen in Stuttgart und Weimar. Weitere entscheidende Impulse bekam er von Bernard Haitink, Jorma Panula sowie in den USA von David Zinman. Durch die Förderung im Dirigentenforum des Deutschen Musikrats dirigierte er u.a. am Staatstheater Mainz und an der Kieler Oper. Ulrich Kern hat inzwischen über 50 Bühnenwerke dirigiert. Sein Repertoire reicht von Mozarts späten Opern, Wagners „Tannhäuser“, Strawinskys „Le sacre du printemps“ bis hin zu Henzes letzter Oper „Gisela!“, deren Einstudierung er 2012 an der Semperoper Dresden übernahm.

www.ulrichkern.com

Eleni1 2.jpg

Eleni Ioannidou
Künstlerische Leitung

Vereinsvorsitzende Ars-Augusta e.V.

Eleni Ioannidou stammt aus Breslau und studierte Gesang in Volos und Athen, an der Hochschule für Musik in Wien und an der Accademia della Scala di Milano bei Leyla Gencer. Als Preisträgerin von mehreren intern. Wettbewerben erhielt sie erste Engagements in ihrem Fach vor allem mit Mozart und Verdi auf italienischen Bühnen. Im Jahr 2010 begann sie sich als Produzentin und Managerin von Kulturprojekten zu profilieren. Nach ersten Erfolgen in München gründete sie 2017 in Görlitz den Verein Ars-Augusta e.V. für die Förderung der Kunst, der Kultur und der Völkerverständigung. Als Leiterin des Vereins hat sie u.a. zwei vergessene Barockopern aus dem Kulturerbe der Region entdeckt und deren Wiederaufführung ermöglicht. Sie ist ausserdem Gründerin des polnisch-deutschen "Lausitzer Barockensembles" und Initiatorin des Internationalen Lied-Wettbewerbes "Bolko von Hochberg" in Görlitz.

www.arsaugusta.org

 

Preise

1.Preis

Dr. Herbert-Speckner-Preis der Gemeinde Ottobrunn

6.000 €, für das Duo, Recital, Tonaufnahme
 

2.Preis

der Sparkasse Oberlausitz-Niederschlesien und Landkreis Görlitz

4.000 € für das Duo, Recital, Tonaufnahme

3.Preis

der Stadt Görlitz

2.000 € für das Duo, Recital, Tonaufnahme
1.000 €, Sonderpreis für die beste Klavierbegleitung
Ein Konzert mit Orchester in der Saison 2022-2023
 

Die Orte

2560px-Görlitz_Theater_01.jpg

Gerhart-Hauptmann-Theater

Wie kommen Sie nach Görllitz, wo können Sie günstig und gut übernachten.

Demianiplatz 2

02826 Görlitz

Das Gerhart-Hauptmann-Theater ist das Theatergebäude für Oper, Theater und Tanz in Görlitz. 1851 eröffnet, wird es wegen der opulenten Innenausstattung im Volksmund als "Kleine Semperoper" bezeichnet. Der aus dem heutigen Liberec stammende Architekt Eduard Titz (1820-1890) hat neben dem Theater in Görlitz vor allem in Berlin zahlreiche weitere Theater gebaut, zum Beispiel das Deutsche Theater sowie das Carl-Maria-von-Weber-Theater in Bernburg (Saale). Inspiriert wurde er vom Klassizismus des Architekten Karl von Schinkel.

www.g-h-t.de

Miejski Dom Kultury

Wie kommen Sie nach Görllitz, wo können Sie günstig und gut übernachten.

(Oberlausitzer Gedenkhalle)

ulica Parkowa 1

59-900 Zgorzelec, Poland

Die ehemalige „Oberlausitzer Ruhmeshalle oder Gedenkhalle“ ist ein bedeutendes Denkmal der Gründerzeit (Wilhelminische Zeit) in der Europastadt Görlitz-Zgorzelec. Als Bauwerk zum Ruhme der preußischen Kaiser konzipiert, wurde es 1902 von Wilhelm II. eröffnet. Bedeutende Skulpturen schmücken das Gebäude: „Krieg“ und „Frieden“, die "Victoria" über dem Giebel, die Gruppen „Kunst“ und „Geschichte“ auf der Vorderseite. Heute fungiert das Gebäude als das städtische Kulturhaus in Zgorzelec. Es verfügt über zahlreiche Ausstellungs- und Tagungsräume und einen Konzertsaal mit einem Kawai-Konzertflügel.

www.mdk.zgorzelec.eu

Zgorzelec_190906_15_dom_kulturny.jpg
 
GR-Embassy_Berlin_Logo.jpg
Görlitz Schriftzug.png

Schirmherrschaft

Veranstalter | Partner

nowe logo ARS AUGUSTA_final.png
Unknown.jpg
gerhart-hauptmann-theater-goerlitz-zittau-gmbh.png
 

Sponsoren

Wappen-1000px.png

Gemeinde Ottobrunn

Görlitz Schriftzug geändert (2).tif
logo-landkreis-goerlitz.png
LogoStiftung-hohe Aufl.jpg
Logo_rot auf weiß.jpg
Logo Hotel Best Western.jpg
Bechstein JPG.png
kAUFHAUS lOGO.jpeg